Sirajganj district Information

Posted In: Rajshahi, by on Jun, 11 2011. 14 Comments

Sirajganj is a district in Northern Bangladesh. It is a part of the Rajshahi Division. Sirajganj subdivision was established in 1845 and was within Pabna district. It was turned into a district in 1984. Sirajganj has 4 municipalities, 42 wards, 9 upazilas, 117 mahallas, 79 union parishads, 1467 mouzas and 2006 villages. The upazilas are
• Sirajganj Sadar Upazila
• Belkuchi Upazila
• Chauhali Upazila
• Kamarkhanda Upazila
• Kazipur Upazila
• Raiganj Upazila
• Shahjadpur Upazila
• Tarash Upazila
• Ullahpara Upazila
• Salanga Thana
• Banobondhu Setu Thana

Area: 2497.92 km²

Boundary: Sirajganj district is bounded by Bogra District on the north, Pabna district on the south, Tangail and Jamalpur districts on the east, Pabna, Natore and Bogra districts on the west.

Main rivers: Jamuna, Baral, Ichamati, Karatoya and Phuljuri. About 10% area of the Chalan Beel is in the Tarash upazila of this district.

Weather: The annual average temperature is a maximum of 34.6 °C, and minimum of 11.9 °C. The annual rainfall is 1610 mm.

Population: 3215873

Religion: 92% Muslim, 6.5% Hindu and 1.5% other.

Literacy rate: The average literacy is 63%.

Main occupations: Agriculture 35.49%, agricultural labourer 21.45%, commerce 11.98% etc.

Main crops: Paddy, jute, wheat, mustard seed, sugarcane, onion, garlic, potato, sweet potato, chilly and ground nut.

Main fruits: Mango, jackfruit, black berry, papaya, guava, coconut, palm, date, olive, bel, tetul and banana, watermelon, strawberry, orange, pineapple, apple and lemon.
Main exports: Jute, jute carpet, molasses, flour, cotton saree, lungi and cotton fabrics.

Notable personalities:
• Famous local people Syed Ismail Hossain Siraji. He was a prominent poet , novelist and philosopher .
• Maulana Abdul Hamid Khan Vashani was born in Sirajganj.
• ‘Abdullah Al Muti Sharfuddin. He was a scientist and writer.
• Captain Monsur Ali was the first Finance Minister of Bangladesh.
• M.A. Matin who is the founder of M.A. Matin Cotton Mills Ltd. It employs thousands of people. This industry has changed the economical condition of this area.

Markers of the War of Liberation: Marks of the liberation of 1971 include mass graves at Baroitala village (Kazipur Upazila), Asbaria village (Tarash Upazila). Martyr memorials are at Chandidasgati, Sirajganj Sadar Upazila (Durjay Bangla), Ghatina (Ullahpara Upazila) and at Baroitala village (Kazipur Upazila).sirajgonj shador thana.

Major educational Institute: Sirajganj istrict has 1 teachers’ training college, 1 law college, 1 private medical college, 1 homeopath college, 1 medical assistant training school, 1 youth training centre, 1 vocational training institute, 1 nursing institute, 1 University College and five government colleges many other school, college and madrasas.

Sirajganj Town: Sirajganj town became a district town in 1984. It consists of 15 wards and 52 mahallas. The area of the town is 19.56 sq km with a population of 127147. Literacy rate among the town people is 48%. Once upon a time, as a jute-trading centre it was considered next to Calcutta and Narayanganj.
Places to see:
• Tomb and mosque of Khawja Pir Saheb of Enayetpur (Chauhali)
• tomb of Hazrat Abdul Ali Baki Shah Sharif Jindani (R) of Naogaon (Tarash)
• homestead of Behula (Tarash)
• Shiva Mandir (Tarash)
• Rabindra Kuthi Bari (Shajadpur)
• Elliot Bridge or Lohar Poll (iron bridge, built in 1893)
• Makkahaulia Mosque (fifteenth century, Ullahpara)
• Nabaratna Mandir (Ullahpara)
• Akhra of Sri Sri Maha Pravu
• Gopinath Bigraha
• Kalika Devi Bigraha, Joysagar (Raiganj)
• Protap Dighi (Raiganj)

About Shakilah

Loves history, culture and traveling to new places!