Meherpur District Information

Posted In: Khulna, by on Jun, 08 2011. 4 Comments

Meherpur is the smallest district of Bangladesh in the South-western part within the Khulna Division. Before the partition in1947, Meherpur was a part of the Nadia district of undiveded India. Before 1984, it was a subdivision of Kushtia district. Meherpur consists of 1 municipality, 9 wards and 72 mahallas, 2 upazilas, 18 union parishads, 277 villages, 190 mouzas. The upazilas are
• Meherpur Sadar
• Gangni

Historical importance: Meherpur is a historical district of Bangladesh for the fact that the Proclamation of Independence was solemnly made at the village Baidyanathtola( Now Mujibnagar), on 17 April 1971 of this district. The first provisional government of Bangladesh was born here under the leadership of Tajuddin Ahmed. After that day on 18 April 1971, the Pak army killed 8 persons at village Amjhupi.

Area: 716.08 sq km

Boundary: Meherpur district is bounded by KUSHTIA district and West Bengal of India on the north, CHUADANGA district and West Bengal on the south, Chuadanga and KUSHTIA districts on the east, West Bengal on the west.

Main rivers: Bhairab, Mathabhaga and Kazli.

Main depressions( Beels): Dharlar Beel, Chandbeel, Kolar Beel, Patapukur Beel, Gopalpur Beel, Bamandi Beel, Salika Beel, Terogharia Beel, Elangi Beel etc.

Weather: Annual average highest temperature: 37.1°C and lowest 11.2°C.
Annual rainfall: 1467 mm.

Population: 579531. Among them male are50.77% and female 49.23%

Religion: Muslim 97.5%, Hindu 1.28%, Christian 1.17% and others 0.05%.

Literacy rate: 25.23%. Male 27.36%, female 23.11%.

Main exports: Chili, jute, tobacco, mango, litchi, banana, sweet potato, kachu, sugarcane molasses etc.

Marks of the War of Liberation: Meherpur has mass graves of 1971 in Meherpur Government College, Jagannathpur, Kazipur and Tengramari. Mass killing sites were Jatarpur, memorial monument at Mujibnagar.

Major Educational institutions: Meherpur has 2 government colleges, 5 non-government colleges, 1 vocational training institute and many other institutes.

Main occupation : Agriculture 37.37%, agricultural labourer 33.89%, commerce 12.97% etc.

Main crops: Paddy, jute, sugarcane, tobacco, chilli, kachu, sweet potato, ground nut etc.

Places to see:
• Mujibnagar Smritishoudha
• NeelKuthi Bari of Amjhupi
• Aat Kabor of Karpasdanga
• Gosaidubi Mosque at Karamdi
• Dargahs of Sheik Farid and Shah Enayet
• Mazars of Barkat Bibi and Bagudewan
• Ballavpur Mission
• Teragharia Marrut
• Shiva Mandir at Ballavpur
• Alampur Mandir
• Bhabanipur Mandir
• Bhatpara and Saharbati.

Meherpur Town: Meherpur municipality was established in 1960. The town was established in the 16th century. Now the Meherpur town consists of 9 wards and 72 mahallas. It has an area of 13.62 sq km with a population 35771. Among them male are 52.33%, female 47.67%. Literacy rate among the town people is 49.4%.

About Shakilah

Loves history, culture and traveling to new places!