Rajshahi District Information

Posted In: Rajshahi, by on May, 16 2011. 2 Comments

Rajshahi district is a district in north-western Bangladesh and a part of the Rajshahi Division. Rajshahi is a very old district which was established in 1772. Maldaha, Bogra, Pabna, Natore and Nawabganj districts were established by dividing this district. Rajshahi has one city corporation, 4 thanas, 7 municipalities, 93 wards, 297 mahallas, 9 upazilas, 70 union parishads, 1678 mouzas and 1858 villages. Sub-district/upazillas of Rajshahi are:Bagha, Bagmara, Charghat, Durgapur, Godagari, Mohanpur, Paba, Puthia and Tanore and thanas are Boalia,Rajpara , Matihar, Shah Makdum.

Area:2407.01 sq km.

Weather: Annual average temperature of this district is maximum 37.8°C, minimum 11.2°C. Annual rainfall is 1862 mm.

Boundary: Rajshahi district is bounded by Naogaon District on the north, Natore District on the east, Chapai Nababganj District on the south and the river Padma to the south.

Main Rivers:There are ten rivers. main rivers are Padma River (Ganges),Mahananda, Baral and Barnai river.

Population: 2262483; male 51.20%, female 48.80%.

Religion: Muslim 93%; Hindu 5%, Christian 1.5% and others 0.5%.

Ethnic national: Santal 2.34%.

Literacy rate:30.61%; male 37.6% and female 23.2%.

Main occupations: Agriculture 38.73%, agricultural labourer 23.64%, commerce 12.44%, service 8.81% etc.

Main crops: Paddy, wheat, jute, sugarcane, turmeric, oil seed, onion, garlic, potato, betel leaf and mulberry plant.

Main fruits: Mango, jackfruit, banana, litchi, black berry, coconut, palm and papaya.

Mills and factories:Silk mill, textile mill, flour and rice mill, cold storage, ice factory, pharmaceuticals, press, aluminum factory, iron mill, match factory, jarda (scented tobacco) factory, plastic industry, metal industries, ice factory, cold storage and welding mills.

Main exports: Jute, sugarcane, date molasses, betel leaf, mango, litchi, catechu, silk sari, silk fabrics and various industrial products.

Communication facilities:Rajshai district has good internal communication and has connection to other parts of the country with road and railway, waterways. There are 13 rail stations and 1 internal airport in Rajshahi.

Major Educational Institutions:
Rajshahi university is the largest University in case of the area of campus. Rajshahi medical college , Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology, Rajshahi Dental College are very renowned institution. Only police academy of Bangladesh is at sardah, Rajshahi. Rajshahi has a Education board and many other educational institutions. Such as 2 teacher’s training college, 1 law college, 1 agriculture college, 1 physical training college, 1 survey institute, 1 para medical institute, 1 silk research institute, 1 homeopath college, 1 nursing institute, 1 cadet college.

Economical base: Economical base of Rajshahi is agriculture. Recently Rajshahi has been regarded as the bread-basket of Bangladesh. agricultural modernizations with the much-lauded Barendra project has increased crop-diversification and production.

Rajshahi City:
Metropolitan city Rajshahi is known as the silk city for the National Silk Board (In Bengali : Jatio Resham Board). The city stands on the bank of the river Padma. The area of the Rajshahi city is 96.69 sq km with a population of 646716. Among them male are 52.42%, female 47.58%. It consists of four thanas, 39 wards and 169 mahallas. Rajshahi city is now both a district and a divisional headquarter. It was flourished, in the seventeenth century. The district head quarters were transferred to Rajshahi Town from Natore in 1825. Rajshahi municipality was established in 1876 and was turned into a City Corporation in 1991 finally. Its ancient name was Rampur Boalia.

Famous for: Rajshahi is famous for Mango and Silk throug out the country.

Marks of War of Liberation : There are 6 Mass grave, 1 mass killing site and 4 memorial monument as symbol of 1971.

Places of interest
• Puthia Temple Complex
• Tomb of Hazrat Shah Makhdum(R)
• Talando Shiva Mandir
• Two domed Kismat Madia Mosque (eighteenth century)
• one domed Ruipara (Durgapur)
• Jami Mosque (sixteenth century)
• Bagdhani Mosque at Paba upazila
• three domed Bhagna Jami Mosque at Tanore upazila (1223 AH)
• tomb of Hazrat Shah Sultan at Godagari upazila (fourteenth century)
• Bara Kuthi (eighteenth century)
• Talando Shiva Mandir (1860)
• Govinda Mandir
• Shiva Mandir
• Gopal Mandir
• Dolmancha (Putia)

About Shakilah

Loves history, culture and traveling to new places!