Pirozpur District Information

Posted In: Barishal, by on May, 16 2011. Leave a Reply

Pirojpur is a district in the south-western Bangladesh and a part of the Barisal Division. Pirojpur district was established in 1984. Before that it was a subdivision which was created in 1866. The Pirojpur municipality was established in 1985. It consists of three municipalities, 6 upazilas, 51 union parshads, 399 mouzas and 645 villages, 27 wards and 54 mahallas. 6 upazilas are Pirojpur Sadar, Nesarabad, Mothbaria, Bhandaria, Zianagar, Nazirpur, Kawkhali.

Naming history: It is said that Pirojpur has been named after local Zamindar Firoj Shah.

Area:1307.61 sq km.

Boundry: Pirojpur district is bounded by GOPALGANJ and BARISAL districts on the north, BARGUNA district on the south, JHALOKATI district on the east, BAGERHAT district on the west.

Population: 1126525; male 50.02%, female 49.98%.

Religion: Muslim 79.01%, Hindu 20.91% and others 0.08%.

Literacy rate:55.8%; male 63.5% and female 48.1%.

Main occupations :Agriculture 35.3%, agricultural labourer 17.05%, commerce 16.2%, service 7.25%, wage labourer 5.71% etc.

Weather:Annual average temperature of Pirojpur is maximum 35.5°C, minimum 12.5°C. Annual rainfall is 1710 mm.

Main rivers: The Baleshwar, Katcha, Kaliganga and Sandhya.

Main crops : Paddy, wheat, sugarcane, betel leaf etc.

Main fruits: Mango, jackfruit, guava, coconut, banana, amra etc.

Mills and factories: Textile mill, flour mill, rice mill, ice factory, saw mill, bakery, oil mill etc.

Main exports: Betel leaf, coconut, guava, banana, amra, betel nut.

Educational institutions: In Pirojpur district there is a PTI. Beside this there are 4 government colleges, 18 non-government colleges, 5 government high school 5 and many other non-government high schools, junior schools, primary schools, madrasas etc.

Transportation facilities: Main mode of transportation is by road and waterways. Buses, auto rickshaws and rickshaws are used for transport as like as other districts. Launches, steamers and boats are used for travelling on the rivers.

Marks of the War of Liberation: As the symbol of 1971 there are 2 Mass killing sites, 1 mass grave and 1 memorial.

Places to see:
• Kumarkhali Kali Mandir
• Rayerkati Zamindarbari and Shiva Mandir
• Two domed mosque (Nesarabad)
• Remnants of Kaurikhara Zamindarbari
• Nesarabad business centre
• Sundori tree (a kind of mangrove tree)

Pirojpur Town: Pirojpur town stands on the bank of the river Damodor. It is a municipality town since 1985. The main business centre of the town at Rajarhat. It consists of 9 wards and 30 mahallahs. The area of the town is 15.12 sq km with a population of 51219. Among them male are 51.66%, female 48.34%. Literacy rate among the town people is 66.1%.

About Shakilah

Loves history, culture and traveling to new places!